About Dunluce Castle
Dunluce Castle land was purchased from the Catholic Church just after the turn of the century by Reverend Alexander Macully. Building by Frickers Builders commenced in 1904 and Dunluce was inhabited as early as 1910. Its design based on a wing of The Dunluce Castle in Northern Ireland.
The Macully Family
Book a special guided tour during your event to learn more about the history of this historic building, the Macully family, the legend of the smugglers tunnels and South Australia's first registered shark fatality, Kitty Macully of Dunluce.
Information and tickets for family friendly, community historical tours on a wide range of dates are also available by clicking the button at the bottom of this page.
First and foremost Dunluce is a family home. The Tinneys, have been the proud owners of Dunluce Castle since 2005 and are the 7th family to reside here. While over the last century some renovations have refreshed Dunluce to make it possible to run the building as a functional family residence, much of the home is in its original state.
A mansion of some 13 main rooms and a dozen original fireplaces, its imposing Blackwood staircase and cedar ceilings, Dunluce has much to offer for lovers of local history.
The owners of Dunluce Castle have extensively researched its fascinating history, the families who have inhabited this landmark building, as well as the history of Holdfast Bay.
A wheelchair ramp is available upon request at Castle entrance. Please advise beforehand.